Manhattan Mist

dscn1322-blog

I just LOVE how easy it is to combine so many dies into one project! This card was created entirely out of Memory Box steel craft dies, and is one of my favorites! I used a sheet of Memory Box Valise rustic patterned paper for the background. I love the grey color and the tiny little letters. It feels very urban to me. Every time I’m in a big city, I spend a lot of time in old bookstores. There is a feeling of being surrounded by media of all kinds – – news stands, billboards, advertising, signs, a collage of fonts and phrases. I chose the name Manhattan Mist because this card reminds me so much of New York City, AND we’ve recently painted our kitchen an amazing shade of misty grey called Manhattan Mist!

To create the effect of a dimensional city by the sea, I cut two pieces out with the dies, one in the forefront color, and the other in black to create a shadow on the Marvelous Bridge, the Cityscape Silhouette, and the Cityscape Nightline. I used pop dots to add dimension to the paper layers, and to make the Puffy Clouds pop right out of the sky. I used two shades of blue to create a Big Splash Border. Layer the pieces all together and you’ve got a great city skyline on a misty day.

You still have a few more days to leave a comment for the World Card Making Day Blog Hop of October 5th, and you could win a brand new die from Poppystamps, a division of Memory Box.

Live your life in color!

Michele Sig NEW

Thank you for all your great comments! They really mean a lot.

