The Card Concept #28: Freestyle Collage

IMG_1308-wm

I’ve been following the Card Concept recently, and am so glad I am finally able to play along! I’ve seen so many talented friends submit some beautiful projects lately, that they have inspired me to try it myself.

My usual style is quite difficult to define. I am primarily a paper artist, and use layers of paper, color, and texture to create mostly nature-themed designs. I love using die cuts, embellishments, wooden die cuts, metal tags, anything to give it a dimensional accent. I often say my biggest influence is American wildlife artist Charley Harper, who captured an animal’s essence with geometric shapes and vivid colors. Harper defined his own style as “minimal realism.”

For this week’s Card Concept challenge, I used the soft color palette to create a pretty nature scene featuring romance and roses. I combined small paper envelopes, script, dimensional roses and leaves, a background pattern paper, vines and a tree for a freestyle collage.

You can play along with the card Concept Challenge here: http://thecardconcept.blogspot.com/2015/02/card-concept-28-romantic-roses.html

281

Thanks for joining me today!

Live your life in color!

Michele Sig NEW

5 thoughts on “The Card Concept #28: Freestyle Collage

  1. Stunning creation! You obviously have a very keen eye for design and element placement – everything is so well balanced! Awesome mix of details – like the sweet envelope, the pink & grey birds and your fabulous rolled roses! Thanks so much for sharing your talent with us at this week at the Card Concept Challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

Thank you for all your great comments! They really mean a lot.

