House of Cards

bokeheffect bokeh-2 Welcome House of Cards friends! This month, House of Cards brings great inspiration and ideas for a popular trend, Bokeh Effect! The term Bokeh originally comes from the Japanese word boke, which means to blur, or haze. What began in photography is now trending in cardmaking. To create a bokeh card, inks or watercolors are intentionally blended together to create a blurred light effect. All month long, you can get tips, tricks, and ideas of how to make your own bokeh project. Here’s your chance to play with this fun technique, then link your project over at House of Cards right here: http://www.houseofcardschallenge.blogspot.com/2015/05/may-challenge-bokeh-effect.html IMG_1726-wm If you started at the beginning of the House of Cards Bokeh Blog Hop, then you have already seen some fabulous inspiration from our creative Design Team. For my card, I wanted to capture my favorite kind of bokeh style, the blurry effect of urban lights on a body of water at night. This style puts the bokeh in the foreground instead of the background. I created an urban skyline with buildings, a bridge, water, and lots of lights! IMG_1728-wm I used Brilliance pearlescent inks to create blurry light impressions in both the sky and the water. They look a little like moons and planets with a pearly glow! This was my very first experiment using the bokeh technique and I LOVE it! I’m headed back to the House of Cards blog to check out what my creative team has created for you this month! Thanks for joining us today! Live your life in color! michele-sig-new-1

17 thoughts on “House of Cards

  1. Michele first of all thanks for like my card with bokeh effect even you visiting and leaving me two comments thank you darling and seeee your BOKEH EFFECT card ooh woooowww that silhouette of the building and that brick PERFECT with your bokeh BG and front bokeh too..that Brillance touch is clever looks like a light in the dark night
    love love love your briliant card Michele…why dont you join also some challenges ..see my challenge list *ehheeem* and your card will be a winner…cause it is so great and so adorable
    Hugs from Germany
    Monika
    HOC DT Teamie

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I mean Bridge ooh silly me sorry with my english Michele hehehe…love all the blue here..a romantic feeling to see your card..may I have it for me …I love this card really..or is it already sent to someone…she or he must be a lucky person to get this masterpiece…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Your card is a real eye catcher and the bokeh is just stunning! I adore this awesome scene – the blue on black adds to its beauty!! Great work, Michele!
    Hugs, Rosi – HOC DT

    Liked by 1 person

  4. donnanuce says:

    Amazing take on the bokeh! You achieved such a beautiful scenic card! Also thanks for the history of where the word came from. Have a great day Michele!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I am so very, very impressed with this amazing, gosh darn beautiful, cityscape card!!! WOW – you have not only used the bokeh effect to its’ best but your die cutting, your layering, and the styling of the card is OUT OF THE PARK awesomely done!!! Love this and your back should be sore from all the pats on the back that you deserve for this stunning card!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Wow! You are so talented. I have a craft crush on you! 😉 This is such an awesome card-a beautiful little artwork! I love the buildings and the bridge. I love how you incorporate die cuts and you are inspiring me to put them into my cards and pages more. Thank you! Love this! 🙂 (ok I will go now before it gets too weird!) 🙂 Big Hugs-Katy HOC Teammate

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Totally fun card with great eye appeal that makes the viewer want to keep looking at it for its beauty and intricacies. Great use of the Bokeh Effect in the foreground and background.

    Liked by 1 person

Thank you for all your great comments! They really mean a lot.

