Winnie and Walter World Cardmaking Day

29355585223_a96dc5947b_z

Hello Everyone!

Today is the very last day to enter a card in the Winnie and Walter World Cardmaking Day challenge! You can get all the details and link up your card over on the Winnie and Walter blog right here: http://www.blog.winniewalter.com/2016/10/wcmd-2016-make-card-for-friend-with.html

img_3604-wm

I’ve had a great week looking at all the inspiration and ideas up on the Winnie and Walter blog, and I love all the ways the design team has challenged and encouraged us to try new techniques this week. My final card is for one of Taheerah’s challenges, Create a card for a friend. I have created this card for my friend Jerry.

I met Jerry when I lived in Philadelphia and became a volunteer with a terrific program called Action AIDS. We seemed to hit it off and have a lot in common, especially when it came to things like politics, travel, history, and the arts. When I left Philadelphia, Jerry and I exchanged addresses, and we’ve been writing back and forth ever since! Turns out, we have a love for snail mail too! Jerry is certainly a “crafty friend” because I often call him my muse. I began making cards to send to Jerry to brighten up my letters. Now, whenever I feel a little stuck on a challenge or a design team inspiration card, I think, if I were sending this card to Jerry, what elements would I include? It always works.

I last saw Jerry in person this July. He had attended a conference in Nashville and wanted to come down to Tuscaloosa here for a visit. Before that, it had been 5 years earlier where I was attending a conference in Washington, D.C., and Jerry came down from Philadelphia and we spent a day in Georgetown. We had agreed that we are NOT going to let five long years pass before we get together again.

Today’s card uses Winnie and Walter’s In a Word: Friend Cutaway die. I wanted the card to reflect how I often create cards with him in mind, and send them across the miles.

img_3611-wm

Thanks for joining me today!

Live your life in color!

michele-sig-new-1

One thought on “Winnie and Walter World Cardmaking Day

Thank you for all your great comments! They really mean a lot.

