Kitties! Over at Poppystamps

img_3695-wm

Hello Everyone!

Today I’m over on the Poppystamps blog with this Autumn kitty card! You can check out my card, play along with our current challenge, Back in Black, and get plenty of inspiration and ideas over at the Poppystamps blog right here: http://poppystamps.typepad.com/poppystamps/2016/10/kitty-by-michele-k-henderson.html#comments

img_3696-wm

This kitty reminds me of my cat, Maxwell Henderson! Max is six, and is unbelievably strong, muscular, curious, and adventurous, which gets him into all kinds of odd situations. We adopted Max from the Tuscaloosa Humane Society after a F4/F5 tornado destroyed much of our city. Over 4000 dogs and cats were homeless, and every day, we would see ads asking people to adopt a pet who needed a home. Max was about 6 months old, and belonged to a family whose house was completely destroyed by the storm. We saw his photo in the paper and I somehow knew he would thrive in our home.

We met Max and his foster mommy at the House of Cats! That’s right, there is a house here in Tuscaloosa where all the cats waiting adoption are cared for by volunteers from the Humane Society. The volunteer brought Max from her home to the Cat House and after meeting him, we decided we would adopt him. She told us that Max’s former owners were probably not ready to care for an adult cat after the tiny kitten stage, and then the tornado destroyed their home and Max was just left at the pile of rubble to fend for himself. It took a lot of time and love, but now Max knows he can love and trust us, and has become a cherished member of our family.

img_0288

Max loves jumping on to your back whenever you are bent over, cleaning, dragging out the heavy crock pot from the bottom shelf, trying to find your shoe in the back of the closet, whenever you least expect it. Here he decided to jump on Mr. Crimson Owl’s back right after he emerged from the shower. This is about the only time he will sit still long enough to get a photo!

There are all sorts of reasons why cats come into our lives, our homes, and our hearts. Adopting a cat will change your life!

2016catlovershop

Today I am also playing along with the Cat Lovers Hop on Her Peaceful Garden blog! You can get all the details and link up your own cat creation right here: http://herpeacefulgarden.blogspot.com/2016/10/the-2016-cat-lovers-hop-is-here.html

Poppystamps is a GREAT place to find adorable cat themed dies and stamps! Check them out right here: http://www.poppystamps.com/

Thanks so much for joining me today!

Live your life in color!

michele-sig-new-1

 

 

25 thoughts on “Kitties! Over at Poppystamps

  1. Max is a beautiful boy! I love him and I loved reading his story! Your card is gorgeous, Michele! You have an amazing collection of dies! I’m enjoying the hop! Almost forgot… I’m in Canada… fitkitty1 at gmail dot com

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a heartwarming story about Max. He’s such a handsome boy. I had a Max too, but he’s gone over the rainbow bridge after 17years. sniff, sniff… Fabulous card. I sure love those die cuts. Thanks for sharing. xxD dlmundinger(at)yahoo(dot)om USA

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ooh! My Charles is a back jumper too, only since he dad yells at him for it Charles will now stand on hind legs and ask politely. Of course I always say yes. Your card is very cut. That black cat on top knows he needs to be right where he is admiring the leaves.
    PJ from US princessjudy4 @ yahoo.com

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Christi C says:

    Oh MIchele – he is a BEAUTIFUL boy!! I am owned by a black cat (one of four) who I got from an add on Craigslist. Now I never look on Craigslist, ever. This one day I just had to look and there she was! Mew was about 6 weeks when we found her, and now she’s a crazy 3 year old. Loved your story – I can babble on and on when talking about my cats – LOL. Your card is stunning, I think the pots with the dirt coming out is so cute! I am off to put Poppystamps on my wishlist (yes, all of the stamps and dies) – hugs! Christi ~ StampinDiva at Yahoo dot com ~ USA

    Liked by 1 person

  5. karenladd says:

    Your Max is such a handsome cat, and I love his story! This sweet little fall card couldn’t be cuter, and that cat die would get a lot of use in my craft room!
    kladd94803 at aol.com
    USA

    Liked by 1 person

  6. What a gorgeous autumn card, Michelle! Of course, the kitty (Max!) would be up on the top of the ladder with the overturned pot and spilt soil below! Ha. What a gorgeous cat that Max is! Bless you for giving him a loving and safe home. Oh, and I know all about these back-jumpers, too! When I am in the garden, bent over to tend to something, I carry a cat around on my back half the time. With any luck…it isn’t one that drools whenever it purrs…(drip, drip!) lol…

    Thanks so much for participating in the 2016 Cat Lovers Hop!
    ❤ J

    jwoolbright at gmail dot com
    HerPeacefulGarden.blogspot.com

    Like

Thank you for all your great comments! They really mean a lot.

