Cat Lovers Blog Hop

2016catlovershop

Hello and meow, friends!

Today I am playing along with the Cat Lovers Hop! Have you been enjoying all the purrrrrfect kitty inspiration so far this week! If you haven’t joined in yet, you can get all the details and link up your kitty creation right here: http://herpeacefulgarden.blogspot.com/2016/10/the-2016-cat-lovers-hop-is-here.html

In honor of all things “kitty” I have created a Christmas Kitty Pocket letter! This is the front of my Pocket Letter. By the time the Cat Lovers Hop is over, and I get this in the mail, Christmas will be closer than you think! Take a look!

img_3709-wm

Pocket Letters are a really fun way to be creative! I love the idea of making NINE (good number for a kitty) little cards with decorations and prizes, and exchanging them with another crafter. If you’ve never made a pocket letter before, no worries mate! Some people are very formal about the pocket letter “rules,” and others, like me, have taken the original idea and made it their own, filling the pockets any way they like!

img_3711-wm

This is the back of my EMPTY Pocket Letter. When I make Pocket letters, I like to make each little square like it’s own separate art card, and I always add a little something so the back of the cards are not blank. Then you can fill the pockets in a number of ways. There are tons of great sites about how to correctly construct a pocket letter, which include a letter, tea, embellishments, questions to ask the recipient, and so on. For my Pocket Letters, I make and decorate tiny envelopes that I can fill with surprises!

img_3714-wm

I filled the first envelope with sequins! SURPRISE! What is in the other eight? I’ll let the cat out of the bag, it’s BLOG CANDY!

That’s right! Today I have Blog Candy for all my Cat Loving crafty friends! All you have to do is leave a comment AND your email and I will randomly select one lucky recipient to win this Christmas Kitty Pocket Letter and all the wonderful kitty themed prizes inside at the end of the Cat Lovers Hop! The winner is NOT expected to do a Pocket Letter exchange with me, although I would certainly love it if you did!

img_0955

Today’s featured kitty is Fuzzy! Currently Mr. Crimson owl and I have 4 feline sons, and we really don’t plan on any more! Yesterday, I introduced you to Max, who we had adopted right after the Storm of 2011. A few years later, we moved into our current place out here in high cotton and horse ranch country. The neighbors had a teeny, tiny little kitty about two months old they had brought home for their little toddler daughter. They didn’t even have a name for him, and they kept him outside. Every time we came home, this little guy would run into our house and make himself at home, and we would have to shoo him out. One day he ran in the front door, and I told the neighbor, Sorry, he does that all the time, and she said “Oh, I don’t care.” The next day was Halloween, and it was a dark and rainy night, so when this guy ran inside, we let him stay. We named him Fuzzy and he has been a part of our lives for two years! He’s our baby! Fuzzy loves to make himself at home all over my crafty space too!

img_2019

Thanks for joining me today!

Live your life in color!

michele-sig-new-1

20 thoughts on “Cat Lovers Blog Hop

  1. Oh my gosh! Bird TV for the kitty! I tried to play a bird video on my computer for my cat but my computer is too slow. All that loading time and the cat got bored. Love the story about Fuzzy. I never understood people who were like ‘whatever’ with cats. They are part of the family! The part of the family that will never ask to borrow the car or money! Love your pocket letter. It is so crisp and cool looking. I love the idea of little envelopes for the goodies inside. I owe a friend a pocket letter and if I had any complaint about them, it’s how the goodies fall out and go everywhere. Wee cute envelopes are the answer to that! and fancier than tiny zip loc bags. Thanks for sharing!
    PJ from USA, princessjudy4 @ yahoo.com

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OOOh, I LOVE your pocket letter! Great colors and those die cuts are so purrfect with the kitty peeking here and there. Love the little envies with the goodies in too. They’re a treat in themselves. I’ve still yet to make one but I’m getting closer with each inspiration. Fuzzy is adorable and seems quite entranced with the birdies on the screen. I see he likes to “help” you, too. So glad you were able to “rescue” him from such undeserving neighbors. SHAME on them!
    xxD dlmundinger(at)yahoo(dot)com USA

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Michelle!! What a gorgeous pocket letter. Lucky recipient and so glad of the chance to win it! Fuzzy is so fortunate to have found you. My cat, Casey, watches wildlife programmes too. x
    caroleannjones2 (at) msn (dot) com
    UK

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yay, Michele! I’ve been waiting to see this! It looks AWESOME! Love the colour combo and love all the gorgeous die cuts! Ooooooh, I just can’t stop looking at it! You know I also enjoy making pocket letters so I’m taking it all in for inspiration! I haven’t made one with all die-cuts like this and it looks so cool!

    Now about your poor Fuzzy, your neighbors should be ashamed of themselves! Fuzzy is their loss! People like this really make me angry! Fuzzy is so lucky that you were there to take him in as I don’t even want to think about the life he would have had without you. I also want to say that I love how your hubby comments on all of your cards. Brian always looks at mine too but he doesn’t comment. Well he did once, but it shows up as my name because he doesn’t have a blogger profile. Anyway, I always get a kick out out of Aaron’s remarks. He’s a very supportive and loving hubby! Definitely a keeper!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Denise Bryant says:

    Fuzzy is adorable, and a great story about how he adopted you! Love your cute kitty themed pocket letter! I haven’t made one yet but it looks like fun!
    deniseb777ATgmailDOTcom

    Liked by 1 person

  6. karenladd says:

    I love your frosty, festive cat pocket letter so much! I haven’t made one of my own yet, but am intrigued with the idea. As you point out, what better subject for a 9 pocket project than cats!
    Your video-watching Fuzzy has me giggling.
    kladd94803 at aol.com
    usa

    Liked by 1 person

  7. What a darling pocket letter! I like that you kept it all one color scheme an that blue and white with black is terrific!! Fuzzy looks so at home on your desk. At first I thought he didn’t have a tail, but I found it cleverly hidden away. ; ) (USA – dcomer1 gmail)

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Becca Yahrling says:

    What a wonderful story about Fuzzy. Seems to me that he was meant to be part of your family (not your neighbors). And I love the last photo with him looking at the PC screen.
    And I am totally in love with your pocket letter! I love the color and I love each fabulous ATC. I have never made one myself but I really, really want to! IF I win this, I will then have to kick it in gear and just do it. lol
    rebyah1 at gmail.com.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I have been just dipping my toe in the land of Pocket Letters – I really like them and I hope to join a swap soon (as I know that is the only way I’ll force myself to do one!) – What adorable kitties on your letter. When I was growing up we had a cat who just came in the house and never left – she had 2 litters of kittens before we could get her spayed – one litter literally next to my head! Thanks! Christi ~ StampinDiva@Yahoo.com ~ USA

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Hi, I love this. Love the simple colour scheme and the cute black kitties. I have never made a pocket letter, although I keep meaning to. Can’t seem to find those 9 pocket sleeves here in Norway. Maybe if I win this it will inspire me to finally get one made. Would love to follow if you add a google friends connect button. Hugz
    craftynomad at gmail dot com Norway

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Your pocket letter is FABULOUS!!! LOVE the colors and the little kitties with the Christmas motifs…..and what delights await within for the lucky winner??? What a beautiful job you did on this.
    Thanks for introducing us to Fuzzy….he’s so gorgeous. Love seeing him watching TV. Little Skippyjon likes watching my son play video games!! lol…
    Thanks so much for participating in the 2016 Cat Lovers Hop!!
    ā¤ J

    jwoolbright at gmail dot com
    HerPeacefulGarden.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

Thank you for all your great comments! They really mean a lot.

