Our Family: Cat Lovers Hop

2016catlovershop

Hello Everyone!

Today is the last day of the Cat Lovers Hop AND it’s World Cat Day! What a great time to celebrate kitties! There’s still a little time to play along over at Her Peaceful Garden blog right here: http://herpeacefulgarden.blogspot.com/2016/10/the-2016-cat-lovers-hop-is-here.html

img_3744a-wm

This week, I have shared the adoption stories of our current kitties, Max, Omar and Fuzzie! Today I am introducing you to our senior kitty, Felix!

img_0688

I adopted Felix and his twin brother Big Max 16 years ago when I lived in Philadelphia! When I was younger and single, I wanted to adopt a kitty, so I went to the Animal Shelter in South Philadelphia. You could look at all the kitties, but you weren’t allowed to touch or play with any of them until your application had been approved and you paid your fees. I saw a big round cage on the floor, and about 8 tiny black kitties were all inside, and it was adorable! But I had spotted an older tortoiseshell cat that I had planned to adopt that Wednesday. When I returned on Friday, she was gone, and all but two of the black kitties were also gone. I decided to take a look and when I opened the cage, which was even with my head, both black kitties raced up to me and snuggled against my neck. I took them both home!

I had Big Max for 10 years, and in April, Felix will be 17 years old. He has been with me through many moves, many boyfriends, and one good husband! Felix loves to sleep – -all day, and it always has to be on a towel or a shirt, or as I found him here, on the Krispy Kreme doughnut box on the counter!

img_1206

Most of the time though, he likes to sleep in the sun anywhere in my work space!

img_3745-wm

From our furry family to yours, Happy World Cat Day!

th

It’s World Cat Day! Any other celebration would be illogical!

Thanks for joining me today!

Live your life in color!

michele-sig-new-1

 

 

26 thoughts on “Our Family: Cat Lovers Hop

  1. Your bright die cut little kitties are so wonderful Michele! We adopted a cat last week (after our 18yo Burmese girl died last year), now we are having the joy of trying to make our little black and green eyed 4 yo girl think it was a good idea. Mostly it’s been okay so we are hopeful lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Super card, Michele – love the banner cats! Thanks for sharing all your kitty stories this week – I’ve really enjoyed reading about your furry family. Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving some lovely comments. x
    caroleannjones2 (at) msn (dot) com
    UK

    Liked by 1 person

  3. karenladd says:

    Eeek! I need to scraplift your cute kitty family idea for a card to send to a cat loving friend. We only have our one cat, Teddy, now, but this family of rainbow cats would put a smile on anyone’s face.
    kladd94803 at aol.com
    USA

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Such a nice story about how you came to adopt your senior kitty, Felix. Our black senior, Jack O’Lantern is 18 on Monday (his made up birthday). He came out the back of UHaul from Florida (we’re in Arizona).
    PJ from US, princessjudy4 @ yahoo.com

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Awww, Michele, I love seeing Felix and reading all about him! Senior cats are the best – they just seem to get mellow and more affectionate as they get older. You’ve had him a long time and he has been there with you through a lot of life experiences – he is a special boy! Thank you for sharing photos and stories about your kitties all week – I really enjoyed them! Your card today is adorable – such a clever idea to use the banners to make your furry family! This week has been a lot of fun!

    KT Fit Kitty
    Canada
    fitkitty1 at gmail dot com

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Cute card. Your old cat is looking good. We have a 19 year old black cat called Nussi and she started showing her age this year. Sleeps a lot but still likes to play now and then. Hugz
    craftynomad at gmail dot com Norway

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Oh my goodness Michele, I’ve absolutely loved reading about your little black kitties. They are so beautiful. It seems that we both have 17yr olds. Mine will have his monthly steroid needle on Tuesday for his arthritis and hopefully he will feel better quickly. We know when it wears off because his starts to sit or lay down very very slowly. Anyway, such beautiful photos! LOL at the squashed box!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Christi C says:

    What a delightful card – those kitties are so cute!! My black cat, Mew, also does the sunshine sleeping thing, following the sun as it moves. Meanwhile, I sweat just looking at her, but that’s for another post! xo Christi ~ StampinDIva at Yahoo dot com ~ USA

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I just LOVE the colorful banner kitties!!! I don’t have any dies for making banners, but you can bet I am going to look for some!! You enabler, you! 🙂 This is such an adorable card!!

    Love seeing the photos of your kitties this week and reading their stories. They are so very lucky to have you as their mom.

    Thank you so much for participating in the 2016 Cat Lovers Hop!!!
    ❤ J

    jwoolbright at gmail dot com
    HerPeacefulGarden.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

Thank you for all your great comments! They really mean a lot.

