12 Tags of Christmas with a Feminine Twist: Day 8

img_3975-wm

Hello Everyone!

We’ve reached Day 8 of the 12 Tags of Christmas with a Feminine Twist! You can get all the details and link up your tags right here: http://ellenhutson.typepad.com/the_classroom_new/

6a00d83451614969e201bb0959b501970d-450wi

The theme for Day 8 is watercolor, and Carly Tee Minner offered us a very specific watercolor technique to inspire us. Here is Carly’s pretty tag:

6a00d83451614969e201b8d23c709c970c-450wi

Carly’s technique involved painting the stamp with watercolor, then stamping it directly onto the tag, creating watercolor trees just like the inspiration photo for Day 8 shown here:.

6a00d83451614969e201b7c8ad63b9970b-450wi

So. I used the very same technique with my tag. I wanted to create a forest of trees, using a wood block die. I like the technique, but it was tricky and drippy, and the woodblock die didn’t give me great sight like a clear polymer stamp would. I thought an entire forest would just be too messy, so I made just a row. Then I created another tag with the same row, and added more trees at the end.

img_3972-wm

Maybe my tags turned out messy and drippy, but I did learn a new technique that I would like to try again with a different kind of stamp. That’s one of the truly amazing things I love about crafting. Every skill can be mastered with enough practice and time! NEXT year, this row of trees will be stunning!

Thanks for joining me today!

Live your life in color!

michele-sig-new-1

One thought on “12 Tags of Christmas with a Feminine Twist: Day 8

Thank you for all your great comments! They really mean a lot.

