Winnie and Walter 3rd Birthday Bash: Ink Smooshing

img_4232-wm

Hello Everyone!

Today I am playing along with Winnie and Walter’s 3rd Birthday Bash! Today’s technique is Ink Smooshing with Heather H! You can get all the details and link up our own ink-smooshed card at the Winnie and Walter blog right here: http://www.blog.winniewalter.com/2017/02/w-3rd-birthday-bash-ink-smooshing.html

31893592244_3052989644_z

Whenever I make these square cards with the nine-square backgrounds, I always make the squares by painting a scrap piece of watercolor paper, then cutting nine tiny one-inch squares. But for today’s card, I created all of the background squares from a new technique (new to me), of ink smooshing!

I picked out a few pretty ink colors I liked, in shades of pink and yellow, and smooshed them all on to an acrylic block, then smooshed them on my watercolor paper. The result was a big salmon-colored smear. So I cut it into nine squares and added the Winnie and Walter In a Word: Hello Cutaway. The feathers were painted in watercolor and then splattered in darker shades. This was a fun technique that I think I’ll try again, and experiment more with water spritzing and ombre color effects. Smooshing all the color into one big pile gave me a solid color block that I thought looked good with these pretty brownish feathers.

img_4232-wm

Thanks so much for joining me today!

Live your life in color!

michele-sig-new-1

3 thoughts on “Winnie and Walter 3rd Birthday Bash: Ink Smooshing

  1. Wow…..Michele this is so colorful and pretty!!! I don’t think of using leaves without flowers in the spring, but with these bright colors it is perfect! Your nine-square design really is a great background for them and for your layered Happy sentiment die cuts.
    ❤ J

    jwoolbright at gmail dot com
    HerPeacefulGarden.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

Thank you for all your great comments! They really mean a lot.

