Gone to Look for America

Have you all seen that great commercial for Jeep where the family travels across America to say goodbye to Grandpa? It’s set against an old Simon and Garfunkel song, and for weeks, I would always get a little lump in my throat every time it came on. This week, we traveled across America to say goodbye to my 100 year old Grandmother, Patricia. We traveled from the great state of Alabama, where the skies are so blue, all the way to a small town in central Wisconsin, almost border to border, South to North, then back down again a week later. The beautiful landmarks and national parks are the part of America we always think of first, but really, that’s such a small part.

Most of America looks like this. It’s miles and miles of highways, trees, and wide open skies.

It’s hours in the car, with snacks, snoozes, and messes, listening to the Astros on the radio.

We drove under the sunny blue skies near Huntsville, Alabama.

We found an unusual gas station with a drive through in Paducah, Kentucky.

We found a forest of windmills in Illinois, spinning away even on a rainy day.

We laughed at the iconic pink elephant in De Forest, Wisconsin at 4:30am.

We finally arrived in a very small town in central Wisconsin, where my grandmother was born in 1916. She spoke only Polish until she started school in a tiny parish schoolhouse when she was 5 years old. Her father’s family spoke German. She had seen many, many things in her 100 years of life, and returned to her tiny parish one last time on May 18th.

We have an old family saying: Cry at weddings, laugh at funerals, and my family did a lot of that as we celebrated 100 years.

I will be back to the blog in a couple of days, with more great inspiration and ideas!

Thank you for joining me today.

Live your life in color, and may it be a long one!

 

8 thoughts on “Gone to Look for America

  1. My sympathies to you and your family. I live smack dab in the center of the great state of Wisconsin, so it is neat to read that you were in my area albeit for a sad reason. It is a beautiful state.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So sorry, Michelle! So glad you shared these great photos and stories. Wow! 100Years!!!!
    God bless you and your family during this difficult time.

    Like

  3. What a fantastic journey, Michele. Thank you for sharing it with all of us and I pray God’s comfort for you and your entire family. What a wonderful life she must have had.

    Like

  4. Vicki F says:

    I lost my grandmother and great grandmother at age 99. they went from Horse & Buggy to the moon in their lifetimes, so I’m glad you celebrated her life! Hugs.

    Like

  5. karenladd says:

    I am so sorry for the loss of your grandma Michele, and 100 years was a great run I’m sure. My own grandmother lived to 99 and always said the most amazing part of life was that man had actually flown to the moon during her lifetime. I’ll bet your grandmother would have been tickled that you all laughed as you celebrated the life of a loved one.

    Like

Thank you for all your great comments! They really mean a lot.

