Right at Home with The Card Concept #75

Hello Everyone!

Welcome to The Card Concept Challenge #75! We have a great challenge for you this week with a beautiful inspiration photo! For me, inspiration photos that feature a room are some of the most challenging. Sometimes there are dozens of little objects or details that can make it hard to focus. Other times, there may be too little to find inspiration other than colors or shapes. So for this week’s challenge, I tried to capture the sophisticated and elegant mood of the dining room, along with the eye-grabbing flowers, and of course, the idea of “home.”  How does the inspiration photo challenge and inspire you? Link up your creation over at The Card Concept Blog right here: http://thecardconcept.blogspot.com/

To create my Classy and Elegant, Mixed Media Freestyle Collage card, I started by making a base out of paper “tiles” I created by marbleizing paper with nail polish! I love the shimmery, glittery effect when the light hits it. I made a small stack of marbleized papers a while ago, and thought one of those sheets would be perfect for this card.

I used the sheet on the bottom right, which featured shades of gold, bronze, and violet red, and cut them into tiles. Then I stamped the gorgeous Beautiful Day flower from Altenew onto a crisp white sheet of cardstock. I took a large word die that reads “home” and carefully secured it in place with a little removable tape on top of the flower and ran it through my machine. Then I cut off all the white space around the flower, cut out a few more “home” cuts and stacked them up, then carefully pieced it all together on my card base. When everything was in place and dry, I added some pink Stickles glitter glue to make the flower shine, then the gold birds and the pink pearls. Lots of mixed media, elegant and classy, and a freestyle collage.

We can’t wait to see what you’ll create, and what style you will try. Will you experiment with something new or use an old favorite that always comes through? Link it up over at The Card Concept, and see all the great inspiration and ideas from our design team this week!

Thanks so much for joining me today!

Live your life in color!

6 thoughts on “Right at Home with The Card Concept #75

  1. kimheggins says:

    You are so stinkin’ clever! What a great use of nail polish, love the incredible look you created with it. Your card is so beautiful!

    Like

Thank you for all your great comments! They really mean a lot.

